Latest news and information on arts, music, culture, dance, stories & adventures of pinoy artists...


July 17, 2012

FILVADRO First Annual General Assemble - Filipino Visual Arts and Design Rights Organization

The Filipino Visual Arts and Design Rights Organization or FILVADRO will hold the first annual general assembly for its members on July 28, 2012, 1:00 p.m. at the Pearl Room of Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast in Quezon City. FILVADRO, the Philippines' collective management society for the visual arts created by national laws and international treaties where the country is a member state, administers the intellectual property rights of its members.

The FILVADRO members' general assembly is themed “Miting Pang-Abanse.” It takes inspiration from the election phrase “Miting de Avance,” the final gathering in a campaign trail of political candidates before voters take to the polls.

Unlike Miting de Avance however, FILVADRO's Miting Pang-Abanse includes the election of the new Board of Trustees, the casting of votes to amend the organization's Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws, a report on the previous year's accomplishments, and a discussion of future plans.
“On one hand, we recognize that the organization's leadership has to be responsive to the needs of the members which the election and the amendments would address. The members, on the other hand, likewise need to actively participate in ushering FILVADRO into its next vital chapter,” Karen Ocampo Flores, FILVADRO president, said.

Ocampo Flores was the head of the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Visual Arts and Museo Division. She is a co-founder of TutoK, an artists' initiative for art and advocacy in 2005 and an educator in universities in Metro Manila.
Apart from Ocampo Flores, the other members who comprise the Board of Trustees are Rita Badilla-Gudiño who is the vice president; Grace Dimaranan, corporate secretary; Tina Colayco, treasurer; Yael Buencamino-Borromeo, vice treasurer; Josephine Turalba; Egai Talusan Fernandez; Emmanuel Garibay and; Noel Soler Cuizon.

A board member of the PUTIK Association of Philippine Potters, Badilla-Gudiño likewise founded the University of the Philippines (UP) College of Fine Arts Ceramic Studio and serves as its faculty coordinator. Dimaranan is the president of the Animation Council of the Philippines and owner of Top Peg Animation Studio Inc. Colayco is the dean of the UP College of Fine Arts. Buencamino-Borromeo is the managing curator of the Ateneo Art Gallery.

Interdisciplinary artist Turalba is the dean of Philippine Women's University (PWU) School of Fine Arts and Design. Talusan Fernandez is the head of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) Committee on Visual Arts. Garibay is likewise one of the founders of TutoK and president of the Asian Christian Art Association, Inc. Soler Cuizon is a core member of TutoK and teaches at the PWU School of Fine Arts and Design.

Other FILVADRO members include Ambie Abaño, Susan Abrera, Ana Rhea Adonis, Nunelucio Alvarado, Eric Ambata, Maria Eugene Aniar, John Paul Antido, Cruzaldo Arbozo, Adjani Arumpac, Cynthia Atud, Virgilio Aviado, Jose Badelles, Rogger Basco, Christopher Bayani, Bernard Bertumen, Jenica April Cahayom, Imelda Cajipe Endaya, Jeffrey Carnay, Delfin Castro Jr., Jason Christopher Castro, Clarissa Chikiamco, Salvador Ching, Joey Cobcobo, Salvador Concovar, Marika Constantino, Olivia D’Aboville, Camille Dagal, Maria Venus Dante, Nadya Melina David, Don Reich De Dios, Iris Joy Deganos, Fil Delacruz, Jan Olympus Delacruz, Sheila Rose dela Paz, Jocelyn Diaz, Jemimah Grace Dumawal, Daniel Enriquez, Noell El Farol, Arvi Fetalvero, Jemima Keren Flaminiano, Noel Flores, Jade Ellaine Gadin, Genaro Gomez Sr., Maria Lourdes Inosanto, Raul Isidro, David Justimbaste, Jerry Jimenez, Marisa Laudinez, Alfredo Liongoren, Manuel Lumbao, Angelo Magno, Raymund Malicay, Frances Nicole Manzanero, Dalisay Mendez, Ma. Rowena Monsale, Maria Francesca Nacionales, Marcus Nada, Gerry Navilon, Othoniel Neri, Eden Ocampo, J Pacena II, Darryl Pagulong, Dantes Palmes, Noel Pama, Lala Pavilando, Josefina Pineda, Al Perez, Stacey Kate Posion, Azenith Elaine Ramirez, Jocelyn Ramos, Dan Antonio Recalde, Ma. Rhoda Recto, Mitzi Marie Reyes, Kirby Roxas, Mutya Sambile, Rogelio Santos, Fidel Sarmiento, Bru Sim, Judy Talan, Daniel Tayona, AJ Tolentino, Lia Torralba, Nikki Tucay, Josephine Turalba, Wesley Valenzuela, Andrei Venal, and Rhener Griego Vive.

The Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines (IP Philippines), the World Intellectual Property Office (WIPO), the NCCA and the CCP recognize FILVADRO as the Philippine collective management organization for visual arts and design. The Norwegian Copyright Development Association (NORCODE) has provided financial support to the organization since March 2011, and in September 2011 the organization was formally launched.

For more information on this story, please contact Betty Uy-Regala at 0906.2604175 or email

No comments:

Post a Comment

Interesting Blogs