Latest news and information on arts, music, culture, dance, stories & adventures of pinoy artists...


August 20, 2011

Fernando Amorsolo Mentor and Apprentice National Art Competition 2011 (Visayas Phase)

Rules and Regulations

I. Categories The competition will have 2 categories, the Mentor level, and the Apprentice level. The contestants are classified by the following requirements: Mentor - the contestant must have mounted no less than five (5) solo and/or group painting exhibitions, AND must be at least thirty (30) years of age. OR - the contestant must be a professor of Visual Arts in Painting in a College or University Apprentice - the contestant must NOT have been a finalist in any major national art competition in painting, AND must be between sixteen (16) to forty (40) years of age.

II. Stages The competition will proceed in three (3) stages, namely: Registration and Prequalification Stage, Regional Contest Stage, and National Contest Stage. 1. Registration and Prequalification Stage For Visayas, the start of registration and prequalification is on July 25, 2011 and the deadline is on August 18, 2011. A contestant is required to register to be able to participate in the competition. He/She must submit an accomplished registration form along with the required documents stated under section ‘III. Eligibilty’ and section ‘IV. Required Artworks and Documentation’. The registration form is downloadable from the website URL ‘’. A contestant can only register once and will be assigned to participate in the CRA of his/her corresponding province/city as evidenced in his/her Community Tax Certificate.

The contestant is required to submit images of four (4) artworks to be screened by the judges. Per CRA, only six (6) contestants in the Mentor Level, and six (6) contestants in the Apprentice level, a total of twelve (12) contestants, will be chosen to join their respective Regional Contest Stage. These contestants will be notified via email and registered mail. 2. Regional Contest Stage The Regional Contest Stage will be executed in four (4) phases. Each phase corresponding to the Collective Regional Areas or CRAs, which are: a. National Capital Region (NCR) b. Luzon c. Visayas d. Mindanao The areas of coverage per CRA are listed below: NCR City of Manila, Caloocan, Las Piñas, Makati, Malabon, Mandaluyong, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Pasay, Pasig, Parañaque, Quezon, San Juan, Taguig, Valenzuela and the Municipality of Pateros Luzon Cordillera Administrative Region or CAR / Ilocos Region or Region I / Cagayan Valley or Region II / Central Luzon or Region III/ CALABARZON or Region IV-A (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon) / MIMAROPA or Region IV-B (Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan) / Bicol Region or Region V Visayas Central Visayas or Region VII (Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor), Eastern Visayas or Region VIII (Biliran, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Samar), Western Visayas or Region VI (Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental) Mindanao Zamboanga Peninsula or Region IX (Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay), Northern Mindanao or Region X (Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, Iligan City), Davao Region or Region XI (Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur), SOCCSKARGEN or Region XII (South Cotabato, North Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, General Santos), Caraga or Region XIII (Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Dinagat Islands), Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi)

Each of the selected twelve (12) contestants per CRA will be required to submit an actual work in oil or acrylic on canvas with dimensions of 24 inches by 34 inches. The contestants are given two (2) weeks to finish their entries and send to their designated regional coordinating offices (refer to section ‘V. Submission of Requirements and Artworks’).

For Visayas, the start of submission of regional entries is on August 22, 2011 and the deadline is on September 5, 2011.

For the complete guidelines and to download registration form, go to

No comments:

Post a Comment

Interesting Blogs