Latest news and information on arts, music, culture, dance, stories & adventures of pinoy artists...


March 8, 2011

32 artists honored with Ani ng Dangal

February 27, 2011

MANILA, Philippines - The celebration of Philippine International Arts Festival 2011 (PIAF) comes to a close today with Ani ng Dangal. Held in recognition of Filipino artistic talents that have brought honor to the country in the previous year, Ani ng Dangal, since its inception, has become the traditional closing event of the festival.

This year, there are 32 honorees from the seven arts represented in the National Commission for Culture and the Arts’ (NCCA) Sub-commission on the Arts. These are architecture, cinema, dance, literature, music, theater, and visual arts. Ani ng Dangal also recognizes efforts made in allied fields like broadcasting. This year, it will be held at the Sofitel Hotel and will be attended by NCCA OIC-Chairman Joelad Santos, NCCA Executive Director Malou Jacob, Commissioner for the Arts and Festival Director Ricky de Ungria, and the members of the Artistic Committee together with PIAF Art Ambassador Boy Abunda and NCCA Youth Ambassador Dingdong Dantes.

This year’s honorees come from cinema, dance, literature, music, visual arts, and broadcasting. Cinema tops the number of honorees with 15. Following cinema are music with seven and the visual arts with five. Broadcast arts has three, and dance and literature have one each.

Cinema’s honorees are Nassier Handang Anggahan, Rustica Carpio, Odyssey M. Flores, Monster Jimenez, Ralston Javer, Lou Veloso, Mark Meily, Meryll Soriano, Francis Xavier Pasion, John Paul Seniel, Anita Linda, Joseph Andrew, Brillante Mendoza, Ellen Ramos, and Paolo Villaluna.

Anggahan won the Grand Prize at the 2010 ASEAN-Korea Multimedia Competition & Exhibit and Best Film at South East Asian Documentary Award - International Science Film Festival for “IskWATER: Buhay Estero.”Carpio, Flores, Linda, and Mendoza won multiple awards for the film “Lola.”Carpio and Flores won Best Actress and Best Cinematography, respectively, at the 11th Las Palmas de Gran Canaria International Film Festival. Linda also won Best Actress at the said festival. Mendoza, meanwhile, won the Golden Lady Harmiguada grand prize.

“Lola” also won for Mendoza Best Director at the Sitges International Film Festival, Grand Jury of Long Metrage& Press Award at the Festival International de Cinema du Grain a Demoudre,the Muhr International Film Festival Prize at the Dubai International Film Festival, the Grand Knight Jury Prize at the Miami Filmfest, the Ecumenical Jury Award and the Don Quijote Award at the 24th Fribourg International Film Festival, and Best Film at the Rome Asian Film Festival.

Jimenez won the IDFA Award for First Appearance - Best Documentary at the 23rd International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam for “Kano: An American and His Harem.”Javer won multiple awards for “Bakal Boys.” These are Best Screenplay at Saitama Kawaguchi Intelligent Park SKIP City International Digital Cinema Festival, the Cipputti Prize for Best Film about Child Labor at the Toronto International Film Festival, Best Digital Film at the 12th Barcelona Asian Film Festival, and the Public Award for Best Film at the Lyon Asian Connection Film Festival.

Veloso won the Best Actor Award- International Competition at the 36th International Independent Film Festival in Belgium for “Colorum.” Meily and Soriano both won for “Donor” at the 37th Brussels International Film Festival. Meily won Best Film, and Soriano won Best Actress. Pasion won Best Fiction Feature Film at the 8thZinegoak International Film Festival for “Jay.” Seniel’s “Latus” was adjudged Best Short Film at the New York International Independent Film & Video Festival.

Mateo won Outstanding Animation Program for “Prep and Landing” at the 62nd Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards. And Ramos and Villaluna won Best World Showcase Feature at the 2nd SoHo International Film Festival 2010 for “WalangHanggangPaalam.”

Music’s honorees are Marielle Corpuz, Margaret Marie Necio Ortega, Lorden Panganiban, Philippine Normal University Chorale, VehneeSaturno, University of Santo Tomas Singers, and University of St. La Salle Chorale.

Corpuz won Grand Champion Performer of the World and Grand Champion Vocalist of the World at the World Championships of the Performing Arts. Ortega won the Grand Prize and English Song Winner for 15 to 21 years old at Star Factor 2010, and Panganiban won the Grand Prize at the 11th Asia New Singer Competition (2010 Asia Music Festival).

PNU Chorale won Grand Champion, Category III: Youth Choir – Mixed Young Adult Choir (Champion), Category IV: Mixed Choir – Historical Program (Champion), and Category IV: Mixed Choir – Free Program (Champion) at the 1st InstitutTeknologi Bandung (ITB) International Choir Competition 2010.Saturno’s “Within” won Best Song at the 11th Asia New Singer Competition (2010 Asia Music Festival).

The UST Singers won a slew of prizes at several competitions in Europe. They won 1st Prize РPremio de Habaneras (Juan Aparicio) and 1st Prize РPremio Intercontinental and Premio del Publico at the 56th Certamen Internacional de Habaneras y Polifonia; Top Prizes at the Mixed Choir and Folk Song categories of the 28th Festival Internacional De Musica De Cantonigrós (28th International Music Festival); Choir of the World Grand Prix РThe Pavarotti Trophy, 1st Prize РYouth Choirs Category, and1st Prize РMixed Choirs Category at the 63rdLlangollen International Musical Eisteddfod 2010; 1st Place in Mixed Voice Choir, Madrigal Singing, Sacred Music and Open Choral Competition and Best Visiting Choir at the 2010 Bangor International Festival; Grand Prix Mundus Cantat Sopot 2010 and 1st Prizes in Sacred, Secular/Folklore, and Jazz / Gospel / Spiritual Categories at the 6th International Choir Festival Mundus Cantat Sopot 2010; and Grand Prize РOpen Choir Category and 1st Prize in the Mixed Choirs, Madrigal Singing, and Sacred Categories, and Best Singing Choir at the 17th Bangor International Choral Festival.

The DLSU Chorale won gold in Folkore – A Capella, silver in Chamber Choir – Mixed, and silver in Spiritual, Gospel, Jazz at the International Choir Festival Grand Prix.

Visual arts’ honorees are Carlos L. Esguerra, Marvin Torres Langote, Jerome Allen Lorico,Vance Galvin Tiu Tangcueco, and Orley Yu Ypon. Esguerra’s”Chrysler Building – 8369” won the Gold Medal at the 9th Special Themes Contest, 2010 Trierenberg Super Circuit, “Architecture” category. Tangcueco’s “Here is My Life” won the Grand Prix at the Mitsubishi Asian Children’s EnikkiFesta. And Ypon won Grand Prize for People and figures Category at the International Artist Magazine Competition.

Langote’s”My World-My Dream” won the Grand Prize at the Hong Kong International Students’ Visual Arts Contest and Exhibition. Lorico’s“A Dress Inspired by Ink and Water” won the Fashion Grand Prix, Onward Fashion Award, and Japan Cotton Association Award at the Japan International Fashion Competition.

Marjorie Evasco and Halili-Cruz Dance Company are the respective honorees of Literature and Dance. Broadcast Arts honorees are Nina Corpuz, Kara David, and

Evasco won the South East Asian Write Award. The Halili-Cruz Dance Company won the Grand Prize and four gold trophies at the 21st Century International Arts Festival Dance Competition and Best Male Dancer at the Bauhinia Cup International Dance Championship.

source: Manila Bulletin

No comments:

Post a Comment

Interesting Blogs